top of page

Do this to cope in our upside down world...

How difficult can it be to work in the comfort of your home and be productive? You don’t waste any time driving to and from work, sometimes you don’t even waste time getting out of your pj’s… From the moment your alarm goes off – you’re right there, in the thick of things – ready to work.

And yet, sometimes the end of the day rolls around, the sun starts to sink and so does your hope of achieving at least something prior to night fall. I’ve probably spent too much time trying to figure this out (hence the loss of productivity), then this meme appeared in my Facebook feed and the relief to finally understand it all was overwhelming…


“I needed to do the laundry, but then I realized I was out of detergent, so I went to write a shopping list and realized how unorganized the junk drawer was, and started checking pens for ink. When I went to toss all the junk, I saw that the trash was full but before I took it out, I wanted to get rid of old food in the fridge. That’s when I realized a juice jug had leaked so I needed to clean it up but when I went to grab a rag, I saw that the pantry cupboard was a nightmare to I started organizing it.
And that’s how I ended up on the floor looking at my old photo albums from the 1990’s and not doing laundry.”

Can you relate? I tell you - this is almost a true story – except that when I went to write the shopping list, I decided I didn’t want to use pen and paper so I had to google "shopping list apps" and tried out a few before I settled on one… However, the time spent was a wise investment as it has shaved a minute or two off this task and it reminds me when I need to buy things – so I shouldn’t run out of detergent again.

Cue the “aha” moment. Lists! Never forget anything again, write it down. To be more productive, draw up a list of things that need to be done and mark them off as you go along. Sound advice – usually, but I don’t think it’s entirely adequate for our COVID-19 lives.


We have additional tasks to complete at home that we might not normally have had to do. If you’re physically popping into the shops for essentials, there is the added time it takes as well as the stress and emotional toll that drains your energy. What’s also draining? Not meeting your goals and mentally tallying up the things you never got around to doing each day. Nothing defeats productivity more than not feeling productive.


Should we toss out our lists? Maybe... but not necessary. Instead add one more list to your day... It’s the list that you will compile at the end of the day. Make it a list of the things you have done - your "I Did" list. Focus on your achievements for the day, even the teeny tiny ones you might not think are important or work related. Build yourself up, remind yourself you’ve got this, it makes you stronger and better able to handle the next thing, whatever it may be.

In a nutshell - to cope better in a world gone mad - draw up an "I Did" list at the end of the day while sipping a relaxing beverage and experiencing the setting sun - and online shopping - try that!


63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page