top of page

Strolling down Aisle 11

And so it begins... This idea has been brewing (fermenting, perhaps?) for a number of years and I guess I've either run out of excuses, bit the bullet or my need to communicate has become overwhelming...

When your business is retail you have a direct connection to your customer and it's much easier to get to know one another. I remember spending school holidays with my gran and going shopping with her was tedious - and yes, we walked to the shops! It felt like hours, but probably wasn't, chatting to the grocery store owner, the cashiers and the packers - everyone knew her name and she knew theirs.

On the flip side, Buttercup Bakery's first incarnation as a retail bakery served a diverse market and the Master Baker has wonderful stories to tell about the bakery's regular customers - each one with a foible. One who insisted his fresh cream cake be straight out the oven, another who inspected every loaf of bread until she was happy she had the best of the batch... These are things we just don't get to experience as a wholesale bakery and that's a shame.

This blog is my stroll around our virtual store, enabling me to chat to our customers, exchange food related ideas, share family recipes and funny stories, life hacks and information (some arbitrary, some vital to the industry and perhaps even interesting). I'm hoping that together, we can conjure up those days just like the one's when I walked to the shops with my gran - those days when families ate meals together, every celebration took place around the dinner table and the best conversations were had while preparing a meal together.


So, if you're a bit of a foodie, looking for short cuts in the kitchen and life hacks, who loves their family and adores feasting at home, please join me on aisle 11.




48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page